Monday, May 9
InterContinental St. Paul Riverfront Hotel
11 Kellogg Boulevard East, Saint Paul, MN 55101

The Saint Paul Foundation hosted a celebration honoring anti-racism activists in Minnesota. We honored six individuals working to build communities where everyone feels safe, valued and respected.

2016 Ambassador Award Recipients

Mary K. Murray Boyd, President & CEO, MKB & Associates

Nieeta L. Presley, Executive Director, Aurora-St. Anthony Neighborhood Development Corporation

Joanne Jones-Rizzi, Director of Community Engagement, Science Museum of Minnesota

Dr. Nadarajan Sethuraju, Assistant Professor, School of Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice, Metropolitan State University

Councilmember Dai Thao, Saint Paul - Ward 1

Alfonso Tomás Wenker, Director of Program Strategy & Racial Equity, Minnesota Council on Foundations

Keynote Speaker Jelani Cobb

Dr. Jelani Cobb delivered the keynote address. Cobb is an associate professor of history at the University of Connecticut, where he is director of the Africana Studies Institute. He is also a staff writer at the New Yorker, where he has penned a remarkable series of articles about race, the police, and injustice.

Cobb writes about the enormous complexity of race in America. In 2015, he received the Sidney Hillman Prize for Opinion & Analysis Journalism for his New Yorker columns, in which he combined "the strengths of an on-the-scene reporter, a public intellectual, a teacher, a vivid writer, a subtle moralist, and an accomplished professional historian."

View Past Recipients